MTD for Income Tax software: what it really costs over two years (UK)

UK buying checks · Every price checked on the provider's own page on · Machine-readable copy of this page: facts.json

Answer (among the 13 products we evaluated)

Rules (HMRC)

Prices and conditions of the products we checked (2026-10-10)

ProductPriceConditionsSource
Xero Simple£7/month + VAT; 90% off for 6 months (Xero may withdraw the offer)Not for VAT-registered businesses. 10 invoices a month. Xero says one subscription can hold several income streams.www.xero.com
QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus£10/month + VAT; 90% off for 6 months (offer shown as ending 1 November 2026)Not for VAT-registered businesses. Aimed at sole traders and single-property landlords.quickbooks.intuit.com
FreeAgentSole trader £190/year, landlord £100/year (+ VAT); 50% off the first yearTrade and rental income need two separate accounts. Free with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster or active Mettle business account (one account per bank account).www.freeagent.com
Sage Sole Trader Free£0Not for VAT-registered businesses. One income source (trade or UK property), 25 auto-categorised transactions, 5 invoices a month.www.sage.com
Sage Sole Trader£7/month + VAT; 90% off for 6 monthsNot for VAT-registered businesses.www.sage.com
Coconut MTD filing£129.99/year including the year-end returnVAT basis not stated; confirm the price in the app.getcoconut.com
Hammock (landlords)£76.80/year + VAT for 1–3 properties (annual); £15/month for 4–10Landlords only.usehammock.com
Monzo BusinessFree with the free business accountCash basis only.monzo.com
StarlingFree with a sole trader accountYear-end return 'coming soon': can't yet file the final declaration.www.starlingbank.com
PandleFree (MTD IT submissions included); Pro £5/month + VATDoesn't say whether the final declaration is included.pandle.com
Affordable MTD (bridging)Free for 2026-27, then £19.99/yearFor spreadsheet users. No foreign property yet.affordablemtd.com
VitalTax (bridging)£30/year per person + VATDoesn't say whether the year-end declaration is included.vitaltax.co.uk
Coconut Bridging£49.99/year + £49.99 for the year-endFor spreadsheet users.getcoconut.com

Two-year cost by situation

Decision rule (applied to the products we checked): choose a plan with confirmed year-end filing, then the lowest two-year total that fits your income sources and volume.

Sole trader, not VAT-registered, no bank deal, no spreadsheet

Prices including VAT where charged. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
Sage Sole Trader Free£0.00£0.00£0.00confirmedLimits: one income source, 25 auto-categorised transactions, 5 invoices/mo.
Xero Simple£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months can be withdrawn. 10 invoices/mo.
Sage Sole Trader£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months.
QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus£79.20£144.00£223.20confirmed
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
FreeAgent£114.00£228.00£342.00confirmedAnnual billing, 50% off the first year.
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).

Sole trader, VAT-registered, no bank deal

Prices excluding VAT. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
FreeAgent£95.00£190.00£285.00confirmedAnnual billing, 50% off the first year.
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).

Landlord with 2 properties only, not VAT-registered

Prices including VAT where charged. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
Sage Sole Trader Free£0.00£0.00£0.00confirmedLimits: one income source, 25 auto-categorised transactions, 5 invoices/mo.
Xero Simple£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months can be withdrawn. 10 invoices/mo.
Sage Sole Trader£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months.
FreeAgent£60.00£120.00£180.00confirmedAnnual billing, 50% off the first year.
Hammock Basic£92.16£92.16£184.32confirmed1–3 properties, annual billing.
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).

Sole trader and landlord, not VAT-registered

Prices including VAT where charged. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
Xero Simple£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months can be withdrawn. 10 invoices/mo. Xero says one subscription can hold several income streams.
Sage Sole Trader£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months. The free plan covers only one income source, so trade + rental needs a paid plan.
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
FreeAgent£174.00£348.00£522.00confirmedNeeds two separate accounts (sole trader + landlord).
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).

Sole trader with a NatWest/RBS/Ulster business account

Prices including VAT where charged. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
FreeAgent (free with your bank)£0.00£0.00£0.00confirmedFree while you keep the account (Mettle: at least one transaction a month).
Sage Sole Trader Free£0.00£0.00£0.00confirmedLimits: one income source, 25 auto-categorised transactions, 5 invoices/mo.
Xero Simple£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months can be withdrawn. 10 invoices/mo.
Sage Sole Trader£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months.
QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus£79.20£144.00£223.20confirmed
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).

Sole trader who wants to keep a spreadsheet

Prices including VAT where charged. Sorted: confirmed year-end filing first, then two-year total.

OptionYear 1Year 2Two-year totalYear-end filingConditions
Sage Sole Trader Free£0.00£0.00£0.00confirmedLimits: one income source, 25 auto-categorised transactions, 5 invoices/mo.
Affordable MTD (bridging)£0.00£19.99£19.99confirmedFree for 2026-27. No foreign property.
Xero Simple£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months can be withdrawn. 10 invoices/mo.
Sage Sole Trader£55.44£100.80£156.24confirmedIntro 90% off for 6 months.
Coconut Bridging£99.98£99.98£199.96confirmed£49.99/yr + £49.99 year-end.
QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus£79.20£144.00£223.20confirmed
Coconut MTD filing£129.99£129.99£259.98confirmedIncludes year-end. Confirm the price in the app.
FreeAgent£114.00£228.00£342.00confirmedAnnual billing, 50% off the first year.
Pandle Free£0.00£0.00£0.00not statedMTD IT submissions included. Doesn't say whether the final declaration is included. Bank feeds need Pro (£5/mo + VAT).
VitalTax (bridging)£36.00£36.00£72.00not statedUnclear whether the year-end declaration is included.

Limitations

About

Made by an independent research resource published on chrishayuk.com. Independent: no affiliate links and no paid placement.

Published 2026-10-11. Facts last re-verified 2026-10-11. Facts are re-checked against the cited sources, and any change is shown with its date on the page.